• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks

Beginner's question about reeds slow to respond.

gerardo1000

Reaction score
I am a 70 yrs old beginner and I have just purchased a brand new Hohner Panther diatonic accordion, in G-C-F, that I really like. I noticed that
the lower-pitch left-hand notes on the bass side ( namely the F/C major and C/G major) are relatively slow to speak when closing the bellows.
they are fine instead when I open the bellows. This does not happen with the higher pitched basses and with the chords bass buttons, they all work fine both when I open and close the bellows. I wonder if it is just a matter of giving the accordion time to "break in" ? i.e. to play it more and maybe those reeds will become more responsive? I live in Rochester Hills, here in Michigan there was a well regarded accordion shop and repair center (Castiglione) that unfortunately closed three years ago because the owner passed away, and apparently it is difficult to find a technician that could give me an opinion and possibly assist me. I hope that maybe I can get some answer through this forum. Thank you !

debra

Been here for ages!
Technical Adviser
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Accordions (whether diatonic or chromatic) do not really need time to "break in". That is what a sales person would tell you so you shut up.
That low bass reeds may be a bit slow to start, especially on push, is not completely abnormal, but the reeds should be sufficiently responsive to not have a very noticeable delay.
It seems to be a rather common practice in the accordion business to expect people to accept what are just "flaws" of "defects" as being normal. Telling a customer to accept that what you think are flaws is actually "normal behavior" of the instrument is a lot cheaper than admitting there is a flaw and then repairing it...

Scuromondo

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Ha