Exercises for Improving LH (stradella)
Hi I'm keen to improve my LH playing (stradella). I'm a good player (I've done grade 8), but my LH still lags behind my RH and I get frustrated with not being able to play the LH as fluently as I would like.

I learned using mainly fingers 4 to play the fundamentals and 3 and 2 to play chords. I've asked a couple of very good LH players and they've said that they use a mixture of  4 and 3rd finger to play the first 2 rows. They seem to have a flexibility that I would like to achieve

Does anyone know any exercises I could use to develop my LH? I'm a teacher and I'll have some time over the summer to work on this.

Many thanks (in advance).
(12-07-2019, 02:18 PM)Hugh Wrote: Hi I'm keen to improve my LH playing (stradella). I'm a good player (I've done grade 8), but my LH still lags behind my RH and I get frustrated with not being able to play the LH as fluently as I would like.

I learned using mainly fingers 4 to play the fundamentals and 3 and 2 to play chords. I've asked a couple of very good LH players and they've said that they use a mixture of  4 and 3rd finger to play the first 2 rows. They seem to have a flexibility that I would like to achieve

Does anyone know any exercises I could use to develop my LH? I'm a teacher and I'll have some time over the summer to work on this.

Hugh - I would recommend Hanon for the Accordion edited by Charles Nunzio. There are two volumes, and the left hand gets quite the workout. Once you are done with that, I would recommend (the now out of print) Little Czerny for accordion Volume 3. PM me if you are interested in obtaining the Hanon books.

Good luck!
Petosa AM-1100 LMMH, Borsini “Lars Ek Nostalgic” LMMM, Nunziola LMMH, all PA dry tuned
(12-07-2019, 02:18 PM)Hugh Wrote: Hi I'm keen to improve my LH playing (stradella). I'm a good player (I've done grade 8), but my LH still lags behind my RH and I get frustrated with not being able to play the LH as fluently as I would like.

Hi Hugh,